Brock Lesnar

I don’t know much about Brock Lesnar and neither does Joe Rogan.  I am fine with the UFC signing him, but why is this guy such a big deal.  He has one MMA fight.  They announced his signing like he was Fedor.  He jumps right into the UFC and is getting a tough opponent in Frank Mir.  I see two problems.  1. If Dana wants a guy to market, and wants that guy to be Lesnar, he might be setting him up for disappointment against the former champ Frank Mir.  Yes, I know of Mir’s accident and how he hasn’t looked impressive, but Mir could still shock people and hurt Lesnar bad, like he did Tim Sylvia.  Frank Mir is another of those guys who if he decides to win and try hard he is tough to beat.  So, no warm-up fight for Lesnar, he is thrown right in the mix.  Second, maybe Dana spent so much time trying to get the unproven Lesnar that he didn’t spend the time getting Fedor.  There are plenty of other guys to sign and market that are proven (Melendez, Fedor, Lindland, Filho, Kang, Sheilds, Lawler, etc.)  Why not pursue these guys?  Don’t get me wrong, by all means sign Lesnar, I don’t even care if you sign Kurt Angle, but let them work their way up the ranks.  Let them prove themselves before they get tge big contract and main event billing.  Lesnar vs. Mir is rumored to be a co-main event for the February 2, 2008 fight, come one!  You better have one heck of a good fight to go with it for the main event, like say Couture vs. Nogueria (I am keeping my fingers crossed).  I wish Brock all the best luck in the world against Mir.  I am not against him.  I just don’t understand why all the hype with no proven experience except WWE and some college wrestling, oh yeah and one MMA win against a nobody.

Leave a Reply

