My UFC 79 Predictions

nemesis.jpg

On paper UFC 79: Nemesis looks like one of the best fight cards of the year.  There are at least three main-event worthy fights on this card and I am excited about this fight night.  I will slowly work on my predictions as I am tired of eating crow.

Doug Evans vs. Mark Bocek

I am gonna pick Doug Evans simply because he fought Roger Huerta and went past round one.  Perhaps no logic in the pick, but I am going with my gut.  Evans by unanimous decison. 

Roan Carneiro vs. Tony DeSouza

These guys careers are fairl similar.  Both have a good win this past year.  Roan beat Clementi and DeSouza beat Hazelett.  Both are coming off losses.  Roan to Jon Fitch and Tony to Thiago Alves.  I think Roan Carneiro’s experience will be the edge.  He has fought some quality guys.  Carneiro by submission.

Dean Lister vs. Jordan Radev

Radev got killed by Drew McFedries.  I think Dean Lister will win this fight and win it by submission.  I look for this to be the submission of the night.

Manny Gamburyan vs. Nate Mohr

Manny is a good fighter.  I will pick Manny, but this is all hinging on how his injury has healed.  The last guy he fought named “Nate” he was beating until he hurt his shoulder.  Manny will have trained hard and prepared well for this fight.  I assume he wants to prove himself here.  Nate Mohr is not a push over though.  This is Manny’s big chance.  I pick Manny by split decision.

Eddie Sanchez vs. Soa Palalei

I pick Sanchez, who was the one to be greet Cro Cop into the UFC.  Palalei is unproven.  If this wasn’t for having Liddell and Silva on the card this could be knockout of the night.  I look for a first round TKO.

Rich Clementi vs. Melvin Guillard

Melvin Guillard is dangerous, if you don’t believe me ask Gabe Rudeiger or watch the knock out to Gabe’s abs.  However, I think Clementi will be in better shape.  Guillard can be good, but I don’t think he wants it.  I pick Clementi in a second round stoppage.

Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou vs. Lyoto Machida

This one is interesting to me.  I got to give Dana props for landing Sokoujou.  Dana has landed most of the most popular pride guys (Big Nog, Dan Henderson, Cro Cop, Wanderlai, and Shogun).  Sokoudjou is still unproven because he hasn’t fought many guys.  He beat Nogueira and Arona, which is huge.  I say this will be fight of the night.  This is the hardest pick for me, because I believe these guys are top ten UFC light heavyweights and this fight has as much title contention implications as the other light heavyweight fight, maybe even more so.  I think the winner will be in line to face the Griffin/Jackson winner or worst case scenario one fight away.  Machida is impressive.  Sokoudjou is dynamic.  I refuse to make a definite pick.  If it ends in round one Sokoudjou will be the winner, if not then I suspect Machida will be.  I have to say that Sokoujou is where I am leaning and he has definite star power in the UFC with some crazy kick boxing skills a la Cro Cop. 

Chuck Liddell vs Wanderlai Silva

Being billed as the most anticipated fight in MMA history.  3 years ago would have been a better fight.  Chuck is on his way down I think, don’t get me wrong he has knockout power and he has something to prove coming off of two losses, but Silva is coming off of two losses also.  A win for Chuck may get him another chance at Jardine, a loss throws him way down the mix for the title.  A win for Wanderlai may mean he is fighting the Sokodjou/Machida winner for the Griffin/Jackson winner.  I think Wanderlai is a harder worker and a better trained fighter, he is more well rounded.  Chuck can knock him out any time.  Wanderlai should have learned something about kicks from Keith Jardine.  I think we will see Wanderlai Silva hurting Chuck in round one.  Knockout of the night.  The one disadvanatge is PRIDE guys haven’t faired well yet in the octagon.  However, look for Chuck’s confused, just been KO’d face. 

Matt Hughes vs. Georges St. Pierre

Perhaps this is wishful thinking.  TUF made me a Hughes fan.  He has tons of character.  St. Pierre is tough.  I am picking Hughes against my better judgment. I want Hughes to win so he can hurt Serra and take his belt.  Cardio won’t be a probelm for either guy.  The lack of training may hurt St. Pierre.  Hughes seems awful occupied with other things also.  I think if Hughes can get the fight on the ground and work for another submission then he can win.  Hughes via submission in round 4.

Leave a Reply

