MY UFC 80 Predictions

Colin Robinson vs. Antoni Hardonk

Hardonk lost to a uninspired Frank Mir and Justin McCully.  Robinson has been fighting very well of late.  These two are virtually the same size, but I look for Robinson to pull out a win, possibly by decision.

Jorge Rivera vs. Kendall Grove

The question is was Grove’s loss to Cote a fluke or is Cote a better fighter? Grove has beaten some good fighters in the UFC and I think he is better than he showed against Cote.  Rivera has been around for a while.  I suppose the size will be a factor, especailly if it stays standing.  I pick Kendall grove by TKO or Ref stoppage in round 1.

Marcus Davis vs. Jess Liaudin

Perhaps Davis is the fighter who has been fighting the best in the UFC.  Liaudin is not a push over, but his record is unimpressive.  I look for Davis to continue to climb up the welterweight rankings and right into that top tier of fighters.  A win here is a must in order to do that.  I pick Marcus Davis by sumission.

Paul Kelly vs. Paul Taylor

I will pick Paul Taylor simpyl because of how well he fought Marcus Davis.  I predict him to win by submission. 

James Lee vs. Alessio Sakara

I just think Alessio Sakara was beaten too bad by Houston Alexander to win.  He has lost numerous fights.  I just expect the unknown James Lee to pull out a win, unless they are just handing him to Sakara to make him feel better.

Jason Lambert vs. Wilson Gouveia

Experience goes to Lambert and size goes to Gouveia.  Lambert has a lot of quality wins (Terry Martin, Rob MacDonald, Babalu, and Marvin Eastman.  He lost to Rashad Evans, which is a tough opponent.  I think in the end Wilson Gouveia will win by ref stoppage in round 3. 

Sam Stout vs. Per Eklund

I know nothing of Per Eklund.  I looked up his fights and I know nothing of anyone he has fought.  He appears to have a submissions game, which could be bad for Stout, but Sam Stout has more heart than most people.  I am basing this on the Spencer Fisher fight basically.  This could be one I am dead wrong on.

Gabriel Gonzaga vs. Fabricio Werdum

Gonzaga got beat down by Randy Couture, but he is still a top notch heavyweight.  That kick to Cro Cop still hurts to watch.  He had some devestating kicks to Randy.  He has a ground game, he is big, he is strong.  Werdum coudl catch him, but I look for Gonzaga to win by TKO in round 2.

Joe Stevenson vs. B.J. Penn

Leave a Reply

