My EliteXC on CBS I Predictions

Kimbo Slice vs. James Thompson

Gary Shaw had to set this match knowing that James Thompson may be the perfect guy for Kimbo to beat.  Thompson has lost three of his last four fights via knockout in round 1.  Kimbo hits hard and will come at him.  I don’t expect this to be much of a fight, but I expect it to be exciting and I expect Kimbo to win.  EliteXC needs Kimbo to win.  A Kimbo loss on their CBS debut would hurt them.  He needs to win and win by TKO and in doing so win the fans over.  Kimbo is the hope of EliteXC.  He has star power.  Dana White of the UFC has asserted thta Kimbo is overrated and that even lightweight champ B.J. Penn could beta Kimbo.  I don’t know about that, but B.J. boxing did look good.  I still think Kimbo wins by TKO in round 1. 

Robbie Lawler vs. Scott Smith

I like Robbie Lawler.  He is a good fighter and can hang with the best middleweights in the world.  His only losses are to quality guys.  He lost to Jason Miller, Nick Diaz and Evan Tanner.  He does have one loss to Pete Spratt.  Lawler wins via TKO most of the time and I doubt this will be any different.  Scott Smith is not bad, but he isn’t Robbie Lawler.  Lawler has beaten much better guys.  Of course that doesn’t mena anything when they get into the ring. Smith struggled in the UFC going 1-3.  I don’t expect Smith to be able to hang with Lawler.  This is a title fight and Lawler is a champ.  I predict Lawler by TKO in round 3. 

Joey Villasenor vs. Phil Baroni

Phil Baroni is overrated.  He struggled in the UFC and did fair in PRIDE.  Not much to this fight.  It will be intense, but I predict Villasenor by unanimous decision.
Gina Carano vs. Kaitlin Young

I don’t know much about women fighters.  I do know Carano is good.  She could be a star of women’s fighters.  My worry is she could be too concentrated on American Gladiators to train much.  I still think Carano will win by submission in round 2.

Brett Rogers vs. Jon Murphy

Gary Shaw said that EliteXC will have a heavyweight title in 2008.  It very well could be the winner of this fight vs. the winner of the Kimbo vs. Thompson fight will get the chance to square off for the first EliteXC heavyweight title.  Brett Rogers is a sort of brawler who wins most fights by KO.  I think this will be the same and it would be a good match to see Rogers vs. Kimbo.  I pick Rogers to beat Murphy by KO early in round 1.

Leave a Reply

