Sokoudjou vs. Shogun Possibility

Following his defeat of Kazuhiro Nakamura the “African Assasin” Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou called out Mauricio “Shogun” Rua.   For whatever reason Sokoudjou wants to fight Shogun.  He said this…

I would love to fight that guy. I’ve tried to fight him ever since I fought in PRIDE and he’s been ducking me. Shogun has been ducking me since the PRIDE days. Shogun’s camp told me that to fight him, I had to fight Cyborg first. I told them I want to fight Shogun, not Cyborg, and then Pride went away and now he’s in the UFC and he hasn’t fought for a minute. I know he got injured for his last fight, but I think by the time I’m ready to fight again, hopefully he should be ready and will take the fight…. Good luck to him trying to get me to the ground. I got my ass kicked once on the ground so you think I just went home and didn’t do anything on the ground? I spent hours and hours fighting off of my back.”

The fight would be a good one, but maybe not a smart one.  I see a few obstacles to this fight.  First of all before Sokoudjou called out Shogun, Rua said he wanted to fight the fight with Chuck Liddell that got put off due to injury.  Secondly, the match up doesn’t make sense.  The UFC has to want both Shogun and Sokoudjou to win another fight.  They are both good fighters and popular guys.  For that matter perhaps the Shogun vs. Liddell fight doesn’t make sense.  I don’t know if that is wise of Sokoudjou.  Then again he did KO Ricardo Arona and Antonio Rogerio Nogueira.  Perhaps the fight will happen.  One thing is for sure is Sokoudjou keeps talking the fight will happen.  Perhaps at UFC 88.  Regardless, I would expect Shogun to be on that card. 

One Response

  1. I should notify u about this.

Leave a Reply

