UFC News: Huge Announcement to Be Made Next Thursday

Dana White says:

You have no idea some of the stuff that we have planned. I’m going to make an announcement next week that is going to blow people’s minds. That deal is done, but my employees don’t even know yet. I’m renting out a place next Thursday and I’m going to tell them. Then we’ll make the announcement later that day. It’s an indicator of where this business is going over the next five years.

I have a feeling that the news to be revealed Thursday is linked to Liddell’s fight in Atlanta in September.  It is obviously on a big scale since the announcement will be made to all the UFC employees. I have a feeling that it is an announcement of a network deal.  The assumption has to be that it will either be Fox or ESPN.  I also have another prediction and is that the main event will be Chuck Liddell vs. Wanderlei Silva II.  I say that because Dana White was critical of the CBS main event of Kimbo Slive vs. James Thompson and a Wanderlei vs. Chuck II fight would draw a HUGE crowd.  It is especailly marketable since their awesome fight in December and then following Wanderlei’s win at UFC 84.  Can you imagine the ratings that a UFC on Fox would get headlined by Chuck Liddell.  I would also expect if that was the case for several other big fights that night including a possibility of Matt Hughes vs. Matt Serra as well as Rich Franklin vs. Dan Henderson.  One could also envision a Sokoudjou vs. Shogun match.  Can you imagine a card with those four fights and how the ratings would explode through the roof?!?

2 Responses

  1. I think it’s going to be an announcement about ESPN. Dana had been scheduled to make an announcement during last weeks Sportscenter, but it never aired.

    I think he’s had to make a few more changes to finalize the details.

    He has also been making a lot of trips to New York so I can imagine that it might have something to do with a show at Madison Square Garden.

    What every the announcement I’m sure it will bring the largest UFC event ever.

    I can’t wait!!!

  2. Would that eliminate Pay-Per view shows? How would that affect TUF and SPIKE?

Leave a Reply

