Frank Shamrock to Fight the Lawler/Smith Winner

Frank Shamrock said on his blog that he was most likely going to fight the winner of the Lawler vs. Smith fight at tonight’s EliteXC event.  The thoughts of a Lawler vs. Shamrock fight are intriguing and I am sure it would make for a great fight, but I wonder is he the EliteXC middleweight who is the number one contender?  In my opinion, Frank Shamrock is the fourth ranked EliteXC middleweight.  Obviously, right now Robbie Lawler is 1 and Scott Smith is 2.  Behind Scott Smith I have Joey Villasenor and Murilio “Ninja” Rua.  I think either of those guys should get a shot before Shamrock.  How many guys get a title shot coming off of a loss?  I know Frank fought well against a great fighter in Cung Le, but he lost, and he needs a win before he gets a title shot.  In my opinion, give Villasenor the next title shot and on the same card have a match between Ninja Rua and Frank Shamrock with the winner to get a title shot.  EliteXC needs to clean up some.  I think they have some good fighters and some big name draws, but they need to have some type of way to give guys like Villasenor more chance.  Shamrock is a part of the good ol’ boy network and that is why he will get a shot, not because he is mroe deserving.  Don’t get me wrong Frank is a good fighter and I would tune in to see him fight for the belt, but I don’t know if he is more deserving than Villasenor or Rua.  He may draw more viewers, but that doesn’t mean he deserves it.

Leave a Reply

