My UFC Fight Night 15 Predictions

Nate Diaz vs. Josh Neer

My Pick is Nate Diaz.  Josh Neer is a tough as nails dude, who will want to keep the fight standing.  Nate Diaz has looked very impressive on the ground and very unimpressive standing.  He needs to improve his striking.  Neer is the toughest opponent he has faced to date, but I still think Nate Diaz will win in round 2 by submission. 

Mac Danzig vs. Clay Guida

This is the co-main event, so I want to hear your opinions on this one

I picked Mac Danzig here.  I think Guida is exciting and has good striking, but sometimes he gets carried away.  I think Danzig is slightly better on his feet and far superior on the ground.  I would suspect Mac will have a good game plan for Guida and will pull out a victory here.  This could be a really good fight between two tough guys.  I think Mac moves on and moves up in competition.

Houston Alexander vs. Eric Schafer

Houston Alexander burst onto the scene with KO wins over Keith Jardine and Alessio Sakara.  He then dropped a few, most notablly a quick KO to James Irvin.  I think Alexander has great striking skills and can be very good. Schafer is a tough dude, who has great ground skills.  I think Alexander will look for a quick KO.  He better avoid the take down and knock out Schafer, so that is my prediction.  I think Houston wins by KO in round 1.

Alan Belcher vs. Ed Herman

Both these guys are coming off of losses in their last outings.  Alan Belcher has been tabbed as a sort of up and comer prior to his loss to Jason Day.  I think when it comes down to it, Ed Herman has better submission skills than Belcher and will be able to submit him, however, do not be surprised to see Belcher KO Herman.  This was my toughest pick on the card, and I stick with Ed Herman by submission.

Kyle Bradley vs. Joe Lauzon

Kyle Bradley got KO’s by Chris Lytle, then he dropped to 155.  His first test is Joe Lauzon.  I think it is a tough test.  Joe Lauzon may be the best of the TUF 5 guys.  I think he has great potential.  Training with B.J. Penn only helps him.  I think Joe Lauzon wins this one with a submission in round 1. 

Wilson Gouveia vs. Ryan Jensen

Wilson Gouveia dropped to middleweight and was to face Jeremy Horn here.  Horn was forced to pull out and will now face a tough wrestling fighter in Ryan Jensen.  I think Gouveia is the clear favorite here.  The question is going to be the weight cut.  I think it was a good move for Wilson, but many times guys struggle in their first fight after dropping a class, like Brandon Vera and Mike Swick did.  I think Gouveia can be a contender at middleweight, and look for him to win a unaimous decision against Ryan Jensen.

Drew McFedries vs Mike Massenzio 

This is a very tough fight to pick.  Massenzio is a former IFL fighter who holds wins over Dan Miller and Dante Rivera.  McFedries is a vicious striker who has had ups and downs.  He holds a win over Alessio Sakara and Marvin Eastman, but dropped fights in the UFC to Patrick Cote and Martin Kampmann.  I do not know if that means Drew is just not as good as the top level middleweights or what.  This is a good test for both guys.  If Massenzio can take McFedries down he can easily win this fight.  However, Drew looked very good his last time out and I pick him to win by TKO in round 2. Watch for the upset here though.

Jason Brilz vs. Brad Morris

Brad Morris is coming off of a loss to Cain Velasquez at heavyweight and drops to light heavyweight to take on newcomer Jason Brilz.  Brilz has been rumored to be on this season of TUF.  I do not know if it was justa  rumor or if he just barely missed the cut.  Brilz is a very good fighter and holds impressive wins over Jason MacDonald, Mike Patt, and Alex Shoenauer.  Also, he fought Justin Eilers to a draw.  Brilz is big.  He is a good wrestler.  I pick Brilz to win this fight by TKO following ground and pound in round 3. 

Rob Kimmons vs. Dan Miller

Dan Miller is the former IFL middlweight champ.  This is a big fight for him.  Kimmons is a solid fighter, but I suspect Miller to pull out a win here.  I think he wins by unaimous decision. 

Alessio Sakara vs. Joe Vedepo

I know nothing of Joe Vedepo.  So this pick is kind of a guess.  I do know that Sakara is a great striker who has shown skills against guys liek Chris Leben.  I think Sakara wins this fight by unanimous decision.

5 Responses

  1. I also like Nate Diaz in the main event. His brother was able to beat Neer, and I think that Nate is close to being equal to his brother talentwise.

  2. Rob Kommons vs. Dan Miller

    like Kimmons said in his interview dan is probly nervous this being his first UFC fight. Kimmons is warmed up and ready. Kimmons has also had almost 3x the amount of fights than dan so he has had just about every fighting stratagy thrown at him. I would like to see a ko from kimmons but im going to go with submision by rear naked choke hold with 2:00 in the 3rd

  3. tWR8rJ comment2 ,

  4. The mlk drive is marked for the half!! I was talking to some guy and he informed me this year the course is the other way like you start up the kelly and around to mlk drive and end right out front the art museum so there is no loop around eakins oval. That should be a nice change up!

Leave a Reply

