UFC News: Dan Hardy vs. Rory Markham at UFC 95

MMABay is reporting that British Welterweight fighter Dan Hardy will return to the Octagon against Rory Markham at UFC 95.  UFC 95 will take place February 21 in London, England and is expected to be headlined by a return to lightheavyweight for Anderson “The Spider” Silva.  In an interview with EuroSport Hardy spoke about fighting at UFC 95:

I asked for a tough first fight, and got one. I think the UFC realised although I was new to them, I was capable of dealing with top-ranked fighters and so they sort of threw me in at the deep end. I’d like to think they had a plan for me. I think the UFC realise my potential, but at the end of the day I have to get in there and win the fights. And they are all tough fights in the UFC as all the best fighters in the world are here. Either way, if there is a plan to market me like Bisping or if there isn’t, then that’s fine with me. My job is still the same; to go out there and beat people up. I don’t think that it means there will be any extra pressure on me; no more than I put on myself anyway. I am just going to pick guys off, one at a time. I’m not here to make up the numbers. At some point I want to be in title contention; how long that takes, I don’t mind. My first plan was to be in the UFC by the time I was 28-years-old, and I am over a year ahead of time with that. I want to enjoy my wins, take the time to work on the technical side of my game. Career-wise, I think it is good to space things out, to make sure you get enough rest between fights. I have always been an active fighter, sometimes taking fights as little as two weeks apart. But now I am at the UFC, the stakes are higher and I need to slow it down and be a bit more serious. Ideally, I would want to be fighting three or four times a year, and I have to make sure I peak at the right time for those fights.

Hardy won his forst UFC fight in a close split decision over Akihiro Gono.  Markham, an IFL veteran also won his UFC debut agaisnt Brodie Farber with a highlight reel KO kick.  This should be a good fight.  I was hoping for Markham vs. Paul Taylor, but this fight will do.

Leave a Reply

